Webster, Todd and Minear Victorious at Mackay Round 2

Published On: April 10, 2022Categories: News

A spectacular Mackay Gum Valley track presented riders, teams and a huge crowd attendance from the region with an incredible location for Round 2 of the Penrite ProMX Championship presented by AMX Superstores (ProMX)


In THOR MX1, it did not take long for the hype and anticipation that followed Round 1 of the Championship, to ignite onto the Gum Valley race track. In what can only be described as a frantic opening moto, it would be Factory Honda Racing Australia’s Dean Ferris who would lead the pack from the gate drop, only to fall before the conclusion of lap 1. 

CDR Yamaha Monster Energy and THOR MX1 Red Plate Holder Luke Clout would assume the lead position, where it appeared to be business as usual as Clout began to put together solid laps at the front of the field. However things would soon take a drastic turn for Clout, as a dramatic crash on the backside of the race track would see the defending Champion post a DNF and end his day at Mackay after a trip to the RaceSafe medical unit and subsequently being transported to local Hospital by Ambulance for further evaluation. 

It would be Aaron Tanti on the CDR Yamaha Monster Energy YZ450f who would inherit the lead position from team mate Clout’s misfortune. Tanti sprinted at the front of the field but would eventually succumb to the charge of class Rookie Kyle Webster on the Factory Honda Racing machine, securing the lead position with 9 minutes to go.

At the chequered flag for Moto 1, it would be Webster taking the win from Tanti in 2nd, whilst a freight train of veteran experience battled for the final podium spot. Todd Waters finished in 3rd on the Husqvarna Racing Australia machine, fending off charges from both GO24 KTM’s Brett Metcalfe who would finish 4th and Dean Ferris who claimed 5th position. 

Moto 2 saw multi time THOR MX1 Champion Dean Ferris take a commanding holeshot ahead of Aaron Tanti, Kirk Gibbs, Brett Metcalfe and Kyle Webster as the field battled for track position early. Kyle Webster began his charge to the front, first passing Metcalfe for 4th and then a mistake from Gibbs opened the door for Webster to move into 3rd. 

As the moto continued, it was Dean Ferris who used the 25 minutes plus one lap moto to return to race winning form after just his fourth gate drop back from retirement. Ferris was simply too strong maintaining track position and his trademark strong riding style to take the moto win, ahead of team mate Webster in 2nd. A late moto charge from KTM Racing Australia’s Kirk Gibbs moved him past Tanti into 3rd, as Todd Waters and Brett Metcalfe would also shuffle Tanti back in the final lap, with Waters claiming 4th and Brett Metcalfe a close 5th position. 

THOR MX1 Overall Podium

1st – Kyle Webster

2nd – Dean Ferris

3rd – Todd Waters


In Pirelli MX2, Honda Racing Australia’s and class Red Plate holder Wilson Todd would pick up where he left off at Wonthaggi, executing a perfect holeshot and establishing great track position to spring away from the field in the opening laps. Yamalube Yamaha’s Rhys Budd would mount a charge to attempt to stay with Todd in 2nd position early. A cluster of riders battling for 3rd position early would include WBR Bulk Nutrients Yamaha’s Brodie Connolly, Husqvarna Racing Australia’s Dylan Wills and Gas Gas Australia’s Noah Ferguson. 

As the laps continued, it would be Yamalube Yamaha’s Alex Larwood who would mount a charge to the front of the field, first passing Wills for 3rd, then team mate Budd for 2nd. At the finish, Todd would take the win, followed by Larwood in 2nd and Rhys Budd in 3rd. Dylan Wills and Noah Ferguson would round out 4th and 5th position respectively.

In Moto 2, Serco Yamaha’s Jesse Dobson would rebound after a fall in moto 1 to holeshot and lead early. Dobson showed great speed after being fastest qualifier in the morning session, but would again fall in a turn early in the moto. Wilson Todd assumed the lead position, with Serco Yamaha’s Bailey Malkiewicz securing 2nd position from Dylan Wills and Alex Larwood. Jesse Dobson would rebound to charge through the field, coming back to 3rd by the latter stages of the moto.

At the chequered flag, it was Wilson Todd maintaining his perfect streak in Pirelli MX2 with another moto win, with the Serco Yamaha tram mates of Bailey Malkiewicz and Jesse Dobson battling on the final laps, with Dobson returning the favour from Round 1 and edging out his team mate to take 2nd position, ahead of Malkiewicz in 3rd. 

PIRELLI MX2 Overall Podium Round 2: 

1st – Wilson Todd

2nd – Alex Larwood

3rd – Bailey Malkiewicz 


The next generation of Australian Motocross talent put on a fantastic display of speed and skill in Maxxis MX3. In Moto1, it was KTM mounted Ryan Alexanderson who would execute a holeshot and a perfect race, leading every lap on his way to claiming the chequered flag. KTM Racing Australia’s Kayden Minear would battle with Connor Towill and Maxxis MX3 red plate holder Campbell Williams on his Honda Racing Australia CRF250r to secure 2nd place. Late race falls from Towill and Williams would match with a late charge from Jack Mather who would claim 3rd place at the flag. 

Moto 2 would see a dominant display from Kayden Minear, who would maintain a small margin over Miles Gilmore at the finish as the pair claimed 1st and 2nd in the moto. Campbell Williams would ride to a consistent 3rd in the moto.

MAXXIS MX3 Overall Podium 

1st – Kayden Minear

2nd – Ryan Alexanderson 

3rd – Campbell Williams 


Rider Profiles